Back to the top


Catherine Fearns – Logo


Can You Hear It?

A professor of psychoacoustics is found dead in his office. It appears to be a heart attack, until a second acoustician dies a few days later in similar circumstances.

Meanwhile, there’s an outbreak of mysterious illnesses on a council estate, and outbursts of unexplained violence in a city centre nightclub. Not to mention strange noises coming from the tunnels underneath Liverpool. Can it really be a coincidence that death metal band Total Depravity are back in the city, waging their own form of sonic warfare?

Detective Inspector Darren Swift is convinced there are connections. Still grieving his fiancé’s death and sworn to revenge, he is thrown back into action on the trail of a murderer with a terrifying and undetectable weapon.

But this case cannot be solved using conventional detective work, and D.I. Swift will need to put the rulebook aside and seek the occult expertise of Dr. Helen Hope and her unlikely sidekick, guitarist Mikko Kristensen.


Praise for the Amazon-bestselling Reprobation:

“Every so often, a book comes along that blows you away with its uniqueness. Riveting, fast-paced, even amusing, this book is bound for the bestseller list! Fearns could easily corner the market in the suspense genre.”

“…a dark and gritty debut with a real variety of characters; not for the faint of heart”

“A smart read with a fresh plot that will challenge readers on several levels.”

“Quite a revelation… an immensely brave novel..”

“This is a gripping and original crime thriller by a new author with incredible potential. Really looking forward to the next one!”

Catherine Fearns - Reprobation


What Has Been Seen Cannot Be Unseen

Liverpool is in the grip of an intense heatwave, and strange things are happening.

A woman dies in an apparent case of Spontaneous Human Combustion; a truck explodes on the dock road; the charred corpses of pets litter the city; forest fires ravage the pinewoods…and there are birds everywhere, silent flocks drawing in ominously.

Detective Inspector Darren Swift thinks there are connections, and his investigation delves into the worlds of football, nightclubs and organised crime. But is he imagining things?

Dr. Helen Hope doesn’t think so. And she believes the key lies in a mysterious seventeenth-century occult book which has gone missing from Liverpool Library.

In the blistering sequel to Reprobation, DI Swift is forced to confront some inconvenient ghosts from his past, as a terrifying shadow lies over his city’s future….

Catherine Fearns – Logo

Privacy Policy
© Catherine Fearns. All Rights Reserved.